Death is something we cannot avoid, but not many of us like thinking about it. But if and when we do, we leave behind a lot of things, including our digital presence. Now Google has introduced a new feature called Inactive Account Manager that takes care of everything if you pass away or can no longer use your account.
You can access the new feature through the Google Account settings page. With the Inactive Account Manager, you can set up a pretty straightforward procedure for what should happen to your data “if your account becomes inactive for any reason.” After a timeout period of three, six, nine, or 12 months of inactivity the manager will activate. You can share the data with a trusted contact or delete your whole account. The data that can be shared include +1s; Blogger; Contacts and Circles; Drive; Gmail; Google+ Profiles, Pages and Streams; Picasa Web Albums; Google Voice and YouTube.
Before it activates though, it will first send you an email or text message before the timeout period ends to make sure you’re actually dead and haven’t just switched to another mail service. What happens when you’ve told Google to delete all your data, but someone wants access to it? A Google spokesperson told TechCrunch that the company “will honor the preference you’ve made in Inactive Account Manager to the extent permitted by law.”